Republican AGs react to President Obama's remarks

Republican Attorneys General and Attorneys General-Elect released the following joint statement regarding President Obama’s immigration remarks:

Along with many of our fellow Americans, Republican Attorneys General listened carefully to President Obama’s remarks about his intended, unilateral actions regarding immigration. We agree with the President, “people who live in this country should play by the rules.” The American people also believe the President should play by the rules and respect the rule of law. The President cannot ignore the American people, the states or an entire branch of government.

Our country’s unique strength derives from its history of immigration. The values of immigrants are the values of our Republican Party, those of freedom, optimism, self-reliance, family and respect for the rule of law. We want our immigration laws to be enforced and our borders to be secure. We also want our country to be welcoming to those who want to join us on this American journey in the manner established by our laws.

As our states’ lead attorneys, however, we are committed to the rule of law and ensuring that we remain a nation of laws, enacted as prescribed by our Constitution. Each president takes an oath to “faithfully execute the Office of President of the United States, and … to the best of [his] Ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States.” We expect President Obama to fulfill this oath. As attorneys general we will uphold our constitutional oath to take whatever actions may be appropriate to uphold the rule of law.

Florida Attorney General Pam Bondi, Chairman, Republican Attorneys General Association
Alabama Attorney General Luther Strange
Arizona Attorney General-Elect Mark Brnovich
Arkansas Attorney General-Elect Leslie Rutledge
Georgia Attorney General Sam Olens
Louisiana Attorney General Buddy Caldwell
Michigan Attorney General Bill Schuette
Montana Attorney General Tim Fox
Nebraska Attorney General Jon Bruning
Nebraska Attorney General-Elect Doug Peterson
Nevada Attorney General-Elect Adam Laxalt
Ohio Attorney General Mike DeWine
Oklahoma Attorney General Scott Pruitt
South Carolina Attorney General Alan Wilson
South Dakota Attorney General Marty Jackley
Texas Attorney General Greg Abbott
Texas Attorney General-Elect Ken Paxton
Utah Attorney General Sean Reyes
West Virginia Attorney General Patrick Morrisey
Wisconsin Attorney General-Elect Brad Schimel

Do you like this post?

Be the first to comment

RAGA: Fighter